Directors, Audit & Supervisory Board Members, and Operating Officers



From left of back row: Hajime Yoshitake, Takashi Tomaru, Hisaji Agata, Masashi Hiraiwa, Kazuhiro Yamakawa, Katsushige Nakano From left of front row: Katsuya Sase, Shinji Masuyama, Shoichi Tosaka, Seiichi Tsutsumi, Osamu Takahashi

Directors

Representative Director Shoichi Tosaka

Joined TAIYO YUDEN in 1979, and was mainly engaged in materials development and technological development. Subsequently, in charge of the Electronic Components business, R&D/engineering, and quality assurance. Appointed Director in 2006, and President and Representative Director in November 2015.

Director Seiichi Tsutsumi

Joined TAIYO YUDEN in 1977 and was engaged in sales and marketing for many years. Appointed President of a subsidiary in Singapore in 2000. Appointed Managing Officer in 2007 and in charge of Products/ Sales Planning Control at Sales Headquarters and the Greater China Area. Appointed Director in 2010. In charge of New Business Planning and Development and Global SCM Development in 2016.

Director Shinji Masuyama

Joined TAIYO YUDEN in 1980 and was engaged in production technology and system development of electronic components and optical media products for many years. Appointed Managing Officer in 2004, and in charge of the Electronic Components business centered on the Capacitor Product business and Ferrite Application Product business. Appointed Director in 2013. In charge of Management Planning is 2016.

Director Osamu Takahashi

Joined TAIYO YUDEN in 1980. Assigned to quality assurance and materials technology divisions, was engaged in sales promotion and marketing. Subsequently, has been involved in product planning, corporate planning and financial divisions. Appointed Operating Officer in 2003, and Director in 2011. In charge of Integrated Module & Device Business in 2016.

Director Katsuya Sase

Joined TAIYO YUDEN in 1986. Engaged in the development of magnetic tape and multilayer inductor production technologies, was subsequently assigned to Capacitor Product Division in 1996. Appointed Operating Officer in 2013, and in charge of Capacitor Product Division. Appointed Director in June 2016, and in charge of Electronic Components Business.

Outside, Independent Director Hisaji Agata

After working for Nomura Securities Co., Ltd., from 1974 to 1981, Mr. Agata joined the Japan Associated Finance Co., Ltd. (currently JAFCO Co., Ltd.) where he served as Managing Director and Commissioner. He has served as an Outside, Independent Director for the Company since 2008. He has also served as a Special Adviser of HIBIKI Partners Co., Ltd. since 2008, as a member of Audit Committee of RaQualia Pharma Inc., and as Outside Director of 77 Capital Co., Ltd. since 2016.

Outside, Independent Director Masashi Hiraiwa

Admitted to Japan Federation of Bar Association and joined OHHARA LAW OFFICE in 1981. After serving as a Supervisory Officer at LCP Investment Corporation (currently Invincible Investment Corporation) and serving and as a Supervisory Officer at Japan Logistics Fund, Inc., he was appointed as an Independent Outside Director of our Company in June 2016.

Audit & Supervisory Board Members

Audit & Supervisory Board Member Takashi Tomaru

Joined TAIYO YUDEN in 1977. Appointed Director in 2005. Assigned to Management Planning Headquarters, Material & Logistics Control Division, CSR & Internal Control Office, Greater China Area, Legal Division. Audit & Supervisory Board Member of the Company in 2015.

Audit & Supervisory Board Member Katsushige Nakano

Joined Fujitsu Ltd. in 1974, was appointed President and Representative Director of Fujitsu Media Devices Ltd. in 2009. Became President and Representative Director of TAIYO YUDEN Mobile Technology Co., Ltd. following the transfer of Fujitsu Media Devices' Communications Device business to TAIYO YUDEN in 2010. Joined TAIYO YUDEN and was appointed Director in 2013. Audit & Supervisory Board Member of the Company in June 2016.

Outside, Independent Audit & Supervisory Board Member Hajime Yoshitake

Joined The Kyowa Bank Ltd. (currently Resona Bank, Limited) in 1979. Concurrently appointed Lecturer at Professional Graduate School of Meiji University in 2007. Appointed as a member of the Board of Directors of the Institute of Internal Auditors-Japan in 2008. Subsequently, appointed as an Outside, Independent Audit & Supervisory Board Member of the Company in June 2016 after serving at Resona Holdings, Inc. as an Executive Officer and General Manager of the Internal Audit Division.

Outside, Independent Audit & Supervisory Board Member Kazuhiro Yamakawa

Joined the Public Prosecutor of Tokyo District Public Prosecutor's Office in 1971. Admitted to Japan Federation of Bar Association in 1983 after serving as a Public Prosecutor with the Civil Affairs Bureau of the Ministry of Justice Tokyo District Public Prosecutors Office. Subsequently, appointed as an Outside, Independent Audit & Supervisory Board Member of the Company in 2011 after serving a Professor at Nihon University Law School. Appointed as a Professor Emeritus at Nihon University in 2015.

Operating Officers

President and Chief Executive Officer Shoichi Tosaka Executive Operating Officer Seiichi Tsutsumi Executive Operating Officer Shinji Masuyama **Executive Operating Officer** Osamu Takahashi Executive Operating Officer Akihiko Mochizuki Executive Operating Officer Kazuya Umezawa Executive Operating Officer Katsuya Sase Senior Operating Officer Toshio Mishuku Senior Operating Officer Kazuyuki Oshima Senior Operating Officer Tomomitsu Fukuda Operating Officer Hirokazu Chazono Operating Officer Mitsuo Takagi Operating Officer Susumu Higuchi Operating Officer Osamu Ikata Operating Officer Shinya Miyazawa

Operating Officer
Toshimitsu Honda

Operating Officer

Toshiyuki Watanabe